ILP Update

Well, it’s officially been five weeks since I started my Independent Learning Project. Although there have been many highs and lows along the way, overall, I’m really happy with the progress I’ve made. I’ve come a long way from where I started, but I still have a long way to go. As I’ve stated in previous posts, my journey to becoming a truly happy individual does not end with this class. Being truly happy is a constant pursuit that takes both time and effort to achieve.

For a long time, I’ve been content with being a pessimistic person. It was easier for me to expect negative outcomes so that when bad things happened, I couldn’t be disappointed. Since starting this class, I’ve realized that being positive may be harder for me, but it’s worth the effort. Although thinking positively doesn’t mean that every situation will end positively, it does mean that I make a conscious effort to find the positives even in situations that aren’t ideal. It’s about creating my own happiness.

15595191710_ba66706678_b.jpg
Photo CC: BK 

My road to becoming happy hasn’t been all about being positive though. Each week I’ve been working on exercising, staying hydrated, not being a perfectionist, etc. Doing all of these things has allowed me to take control of my life and happiness. I’ve noticed that I’ve had less headaches and that I overall feel better.

Each week it becomes easier and easier to be happier. Instead of having to constantly force myself to work out, be positive, or drink water every day, I only have to do so a few times a week. When I started this project and would find myself being negative, I had to work really hard to find the positives in a situation. Now, when I find myself in a pessimistic attitude, it only takes a split second to find the silver lining, or something to be grateful for.

12728044363_513cd696cf_n.jpg
Photo CC: KenC1983

As I mentioned in an update a few weeks ago, one of the things that really helped me was to look up quotes, videos, or articles about positivity and happiness. Sometimes, when I was having an especially difficult day, the hour or so I would spend looking online would renew my confidence. Not only did it help boost my attitude, I often times also find tips to help with happiness. For example, one video I watched by Brendon Burchard talked about how being negative was the “easy” thing to do. He suggested setting an alarm on your phone saying “I’m not into easy.” This daily reminder allows me a chance to reflect upon my attitude and make changes when necessary.

In the short five weeks that have passed, I have been amazed with the amount of change that I’ve been able to make in myself. When I started this project I had hopes that I’d be able to become a happier, more positive person, but deep down, I doubted myself. I see now that being happy is a personal choice. Although our experiences may influence our happiness, when it comes down to it, we have the ultimate say in how we react to situations that arise. Bad things are going to happen. That’s just a fact of life. With that being said, when these unfortunate situations arise, we must force ourselves to overlook the negative and look for a light within the dark.

8705332490_5a07eb0fdc_k.jpg
Photo CC: MartaZ*
Leave a Reply

