Don’t Knock it ‘Till You Try it!

Honestly, when I found out we were going to be listening to podcasts this week, I was a little disappointed. I’m not sure exactly what I was expecting, (maybe some stuffy documentary?) but what I found out surprised me. I LOVE podcasts! The podcast that I chose to focus on was Serial—a true retelling of the murder of a woman named Hae Min Lee. What many people don’t know about me, is that I was very torn between whether I wanted to be a teacher or a lawyer. Ever since late middle school, I became obsessed with lawyers, court cases, and government in general. When I read that there was actually a podcast about this kind of thing, I was thrilled!

6071512063_e265d65eba_b.jpg
Photo CC-Envios

I automatically opened up a new browser and searched “Serial.” I was not disappointed. I spent hours listening to Serial. The best part about podcasts is that you don’t have to be watching to know what is going on. Typically if you turn on the TV to listen to a show, you miss important information because you aren’t watching. Podcasts don’t have video, so you can multitask while you listen. For example, I listened to Serial while I was doing the dishes and folding my laundry. It made these boring household chores much more interesting. Believe it or not, I’m listening to it as I write this post!

14862251640_6d5b7b9e77_b.jpg
Photo CC- Jane Perez 

I can definitely see the benefit of using podcasts and digital stories in the classroom. The benefits are monumental. For students who are auditory learners, this is the best way for them to learn. It can be helpful for students to get a break from hearing their teacher talk and listen to somebody else talk. Podcasts tell stories and give information in a new, exciting way. As far as digital stories go, students are able to think creatively and have a say in their education, all while becoming digitally literate individuals. Generally speaking, students become more invested and motivated to produce their best work when they get a say in what they are doing. For example, you could tell students that they need to make a digital story about a mouse who found a piece of cheese. Instead of telling students to write a story, or draw a picture, students have endless possibilities of how to complete the assignment. They could type a story, draw a picture with a drawing website, take a video, make an audio, etc. Allowing students to create digital stories can also create some problems as well though. There would need to be strict guidelines on the websites that students are allowed to access to make their stories.

5404452770_8a58d7730b_b.jpg
Photo CC- marragem

As an elementary teacher, I feel it would be a little more difficult to give students free reign with making digital stories just because many of the online tools may be too advanced. However, there are websites such as Paint Go that allows students to paint/draw with different mediums. This would be a safe site where students could create a digital story. When I started on the assignments this week, I definitely didn’t have as open of a mind as I should have. I’ve actually found more useful tools in this class this week than any other week so far. I guess what they say is true: Don’t know it ’till  you try it! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Don’t Knock it ‘Till You Try it!

  1. I was kind of like you when I heard podcasts until I started listening to station after station and also spent hours on it as well. There are so many different things you can do by introducing podcasts into the classroom. Awesome job!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also felt the same way when I first started listening to podcast. I first started listening to informational ones that were super boring and I didn’t understand. I then found so,E of actual stories also! I started to enjoy them more!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Courtney,
    I felt the same way. At first i was sure we would have to listen to some boring research or documentary, what a drag. And i wondered how i would be able to force myself to pay attention. Wow was i surprised when i learned that we got to choose our own podcasts to listen to. Like you, i also chose ‘Serial’ and i was immediately drawn in and eager to continue listening after the first episode got over. It really does help to make things less dull like dishes and laundry when you have something interesting to listen to. I now like to listen to them while doing schoolwork as long as the tasks don’t require a ton of thought and brainpower lol. Then i struggle to focus on both. I think podcasts are a good source for education because i feel like they would draw students in just they did you and I. Teachers can have students hold discussions and write reflective papers over what the students listen to. And they would enjoy it which is important.
    Skyler

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love your thoughts about using it in the classroom. Like you said, it would really draw students in. Many times I think they get tired of hearing our voices, so it’s a nice change of pace! Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  4. I’m glad to know that someone else wasn’t exactly thrilled about the podcast thing at first. I didn’t know there were so many different ones focusing on different topics out there. I too immediately searched Serial and wasn’t disappointed. Podcasts are a great tool for auditory learners, like you mentioned, and can be paired with other types of work as well. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

